ABLF Awards

Asian Business Leadership Forum Awards™ 2011

The Spirit of Asia comes together in Celebration, Conversation and Collaboration

The Asian Business Leadership Forum Awards™, held in New Delhi on October 3, 2011, was Asia's premier showcase of exemplary business enterprise. The ABLF Awards series seeks to recognize and reward pioneering leaders and organizations who have established innovative ventures and set new benchmarks in the global business arena. The mandate of the Asian Business Leadership Forum is to encourage, showcase and celebrate visionary business leadership across Asia and to promote sustainable business, while becoming a premium industry and business platform backed by a think-tank of prominent business icons, policy-makers and opinion leaders from across Asia.

The inaugural ABLF Awards 2011 focused on the three dynamic regions of the powerful Asian business-scape – the Gulf, India and South-East Asia. The anticipation that began with the launch of the public nomination campaign in August 2011 culminated in a spectacular gold carpet award event at the Taj Palace Hotel in New Delhi, which honoured and rewarded 14 outstanding individuals from across Asia whose successes are inextricably linked to the prosperity of the Asian business-scape.

The ABLF Awards 2011 winners:

  • Mr Mohammad Al Zubair (Founder, Zubair Corporation, Oman), Mr Ratan Tata (Chairman, Tata Group, India), and Mr Gopinath Pillai (Executive Chairman, Savant Infocomm, Singapore) received the ‘ABLF Lifetime Achievement Award’ from the Gulf, India and South-East Asia regions respectively.
  • Ms Salma Hareb (CEO, JAFZA and Economic Zones Worldwide, UAE), Mr Shashi Ruia (Chairman, Essar Group, India), and Mr Stephen Lee Ching Yen (Chairman, Singapore Airlines, Singapore) won the ‘ABLF Business Excellence Award’ from the Gulf, India and South-East Asia regions respectively.
  • Ms Hind Bahwan (Director, Suhail Bahwan Group, Oman), Ms Chanda Kochhar (Managing Director, ICICI Bank, India), and Ms Olivia Lum (Group President & CEO, Hyflux Group, Singapore) won the ‘ABLF Woman of Power Award’ from the Gulf, India and South-East Asia regions respectively.
  • Mr Ghaith Al Ghaith (CEO, FlyDubai, UAE) and Mr George Santosa Tahija (President Director, Austindo Group, Indonesia), won the ‘ABLF Business Courage Award’ from the Gulf and South-East Asia, whereas the award from India was shared by Mr A.M. Naik (Chairman & MD, Larsen & Toubro) and Mr Gautam Thapar (Chairman & CEO, Avantha Group).

In its inaugural year, the ABLF Awards Grand Jury made a unanimous decision to present the most important award of the night, the ‘ABLF Global Asian Award’ as a posthumous honour to the late Mr Dhirubhai Ambani, often considered the original Global Asian, for his inspirational and honest leadership of one of India’s leading business houses and his immeasurable contribution to the Indian growth story.

For pictures from the event and the entire journey of the ABLF Awards 2011, download the e-version of the annual ABLF Series coffee-table book ‘History-Makers of the New Asian Century – the ABLF Journey of Glory’ which was launched in the UAE by HH Sheikh Nahayan Mabarak Al Nahayan, Minister of Higher Education of Scientific Research; and in India by HE Kamal Nath, Union Minister of Urban Development.

For all other information, visit the official website of the ABLF Awards - www.ablfawards.com

ABLF Awards


ABLF Awards
Images of Success
India and the UAE: In Celebration of a Legendary Friendship
India-UAE Knowledge Forum